Posted by: theprovidentwoman | July 30, 2009

Me and cavities don’t mix, they = dentist

Yesterday I had the unfortunate experience of going to the dentist and gettingĀ  a filling. Anyone enjoy that? Anyone?

You know how it goes, the dentist shoots the good stuff into the very back of you mouth. Feels like he injects it through your jaw joint. Then he wiggles it around (sorry to be so graphic). Then your face is no longer yours. Almost instantly it feels weird to touch your own skin on that side of your face. Even my ear went numb. That was weird. He kept doing whatever they do to fill a cavity, pushing so hard it would slowly turn my head. The only thing I know was the whole experience felt like fingernails on a chalk board. It even made me shiver down my spine. I was very happy when it was over.

My face was so numb, hours after I got home my son runs up to me and pops me upside the head with an extra large hotwheel. Normally, I think this would hurt, but not today. I had the good stuff. Anyway. He thought, since I didn’t have the reaction he was going for he would try it again. I did have to put a stop to it. I just got up. Then, being 16 months old, he had one of his wonderful fits. Throwing himself around the floor until he got distracted enough to forget about it.

Later, when the numbness wore off, I do believe I felt the pain of the car (and everything else). What in the world was that doctor doing to my mouth. HOLY COW!!!

Responses

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Sorry about your dental experience – my husband has to go Saturday and have a tooth removed (I had one not too long ago) – and I have a broken tooth – I’m just putting off going – I don’t find it all too bad it’s just getting the time. I shouldn’t complain I’m lucky to stay at home with Andrew – but with his schedule (therapy appointments etc) and Jim always working (thank God he has a job) – I just get gripey sometimes. Hang in there.

  2. Thanks for stopping by http://www.ourmushpush.com. You are right…no one enjoys the dentist. I’m an over salivater or something. He’ll be working in my mouth and all of a sudden out shoots a spray of saliva. Way gross. (And my dentist is real cute, so it only makes the experience worse.)

  3. I hate getting my teeth worked on as well. My dad is my dentist though, so I can’t get mad at him, but I do dread it. I’m set to spend some time “in the chair” next month when we’re going to visit. What a way to spend a vacation!

  4. I know how you fell…a lot of people are in the same boat. Not many people look forward to visiting the dentist!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

