Posted by: theprovidentwoman | August 6, 2009

Grocery Game for Dummies

For years I have heard about these women who can go grocery shopping and buy $100 worth of food and only pay $15. WHAT? How do I get me some of that action?

Well, I have a friend who moved down to Texas. She met this wonderful woman who taught her how. She told me about it over the phone. I didn’t believe her. There is no one to save that much money. My friend told me she would be coming up in a couple of weeks and she would show me. And show me she did. And taught me she did.

 With her she brought a huge stack of coupons she got from Sunday’s paper. And she instructed me to cut out every, EVERY coupon in it. I thought “okaaaay. I wasn’t buying depends no matter how much I’ll save.”

 I cut out everything. She then showed me how she files everything in her coupon sorter. So we went out and bought me one. I got mine at Staples, but I know Wal-Mart has them for cheaper and I bought my sister-in-law one at Target for $2.

So here is how I sort my coupons:

1st slot: I leave open to use the coupons I know for sure I will use during my grocery trip.

2nd: Baby or child.

3rd: Any personal hygiene or makeup.

4th: All household products.

5th: Meal stuff

6th: Baking stuff

7th: Dairy

8th: Batteries (I don’t know why I give this one it’s own)

9th: Restaurants

10th: Pet stuff (I don’t even have pets)

Now if you buy a coupon holder with more slots you can separate out to more categories. Some people use 3-ring binders with picture sleeves. This is too hard core for me. I can’t tote around a 3-ring binder everywhere. I can carry around this little coupon holder in my purse all of the time.

 Now there are a few rules to go buy if you really want to save as much money as possible.

1st rule: Don’t buy anything you wouldn’t normally buy just because you have a coupon or it’s on sale.

 2nd rule: Make your weekly menu off of the sale ads and your coupons.

 3rd rule: Make a list and only buy what’s on it.

 Okay, so now you have the basic rules. Take out the weekly ads for ALL of the local grocery stores. Look through the ones for the stores that double any coupons first. If something is on sale AND you have a coupon for it, this is considered a GREAT buy. You might want to see how that will fit into your menu. If it’s something like shampoo you might want to consider switching for a bottle or two.

 If you are buying more than one of the same thing, you can use more than one coupon.

 OH, here is something I didn’t know before – look for buy one get one free adds. If you have a buy one get free coupon too, you get two for free. Just because the store has it on sale doesn’t mean you can’t use a coupon. The sale takes off the price of one at the end and so does your coupon.

 Also if you have a coupon for something you would not normally buy, but it says for a FREE _______. As long as it’s not buy one get one. GET IT. I bought a bag of dog food my first grocery trip trying this because I had get a free bag of “whatever it was” dog food. And the store had an in store coupon. The cashier rang up the item ($3.99) ran the in store coupon (-$1.00) then ran my coupon (-3.99). That’s right folks; I made $1.00 on my purchase of dog food. Now I didn’t want this to go to waste so I fed it to my kids. They didn’t know the difference between this and my cooking. (Just kidding, I gave it to a friend with a dog).

For some stores if you bring your own grocery bag they will give you money off. I know the Dillon’s here gives you a 5¢ discount for every bag you bring. I have 5 and I always bring all 5. They take off 25¢ every time I go and sometimes I don’t even have to use all of the bags. The bags only cost me $1.00 and I’ve had them over a year now. Going to the grocery store at least one if not 2-3 times a week. Think of the money I save with that. It all adds up.

 Well, the first time I tried this out I bought $120 worth of stuff (I have them ring it up first and then I give them my savings card and the coupons). I only paid $42 for all of it. Now that was my best shopping savings. But I have saved a lot over the year I have been doing this.

 I might think of some more tips later. I hope this helps. If you have anymore tips for me let me know.

Responses

  1. So my sister did this until she had her 4th child, then it got to be a little too much for her.
    They bought 4 Sunday papers with coupons. I think she also joined an online site that would let her know where sales in her area were and which week the coupon ran. (She did the 3 ring binder with the picture sleeves.) She got shampoo/conditioner for like $0.19 per bottle once and got a nice little stock.
    If it is something that you’re willing to put the time and effort into, it can save you tons of money. I just don’t think I’m that organized!

  2. I love my 25 cents off a shopping trip! That’s about as much as I do at this point though. Sometimes I’ll use coupons they print out for me at dillons, but I get annoyed that many of them are like “buy5 and get 25 cents off” Annoying!

  3. This is great! I’m always trying to learn how to save more at the grocery store!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

