Posted by: theprovidentwoman | July 26, 2009

A Skirt, Really?

I had a sad, but funny experience quite recently. At work (one of my many jobs), I was in the office and another employee was in there with me and said she had something to ask me, but didn’t want me to take it the wrong way. I’m thinking “Oh, man, do I have a big booger smeared on my cheek or is there toilet paper stuck to my shoe” (yes, I imaging gross things, sorry). But she asked, “Are you pregnant?”

Of course I blurt out, “DO I LOOK PREGNANT?!”

As she pulled her shoe out of her mouth she informed me “No, you don’t, but a lot of people here think you are because you wore a skirt to work the other day.” A skirt, really, that means you have a bun in the oven. Weird, I guess I’m out of the How To Announce Your Pregnant fashions.

As I responded by exclaiming “No, I’m not pregnant! I just like to dress nice every now and again” she opened the office door and without hesitation shouted out to other employees sitting on chairs close by, “False alarm there is nothing baking.” She may have thought that this conversation was over, that it wouldn’t lead to more or stay on my mind, but she was wrong, way wrong. Guess what I tried, and I mean tried, doing a couple days later. RUN. Yep, I lost my mind. And I have realized that I am not a runner. I ran maybe 2 blocks and I was done. I walked a ways and ran maybe one more block and did this a few times. And yes, I wanted to throw up when I was done. Yes, I’m that out of shape and lazy.  How do people ever get into running? I don’t think I’ll ever understand.

Yep, I'm cooking! And I'm sure it wasn't healthy.

Yes, I was probably cooking something unhealthy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

